A Transcript of AOC’s Remarks On Being Called a “F*cking B*itch”

Jeremy Fassler
6 min readJul 23, 2020
Photograph courtesy of the Associated Press

Two days ago, Florida Congressman Ted Yoho called Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez a “fucking bitch” in front of reporters at the U.S. Capitol. Following the backlash, Yoho apologized from the floor of the House of Representatives yesterday, but many, including AOC, criticized him for not taking proper responsibility for his actions.

Just this morning, AOC was granted a point of personal privilege to address Yoho’s remarks. The full video can be found on C-SPAN. Here is a transcript of her speech:

“Thank you, Madam Speaker. And I would also like to thank many of my colleagues for the opportunity to not only speak today but for the many members from both sides of the aisle who have reached out to me for support following the incident this week.

“About two days ago, I was walking up the steps of the Capitol when Representative Yoho suddenly turned a corner, and he was accompanied by Representative Roger Williams, and accosted me on the steps right here in front of our nation’s Capitol. I was minding my own business, walking up the steps, and Rep. Yoho put his finger in my face: he called me ‘disgusting,’ he called me ‘crazy,’ he called me ‘out of my mind,’ and he called me ‘dangerous.’ And then he took a few more steps, and after I had recognized his comments as rude, he walked…

--

--

Jeremy Fassler

Correspondent, The Capitol Forum. Bylines: The New York Times, The Atlantic, Mother Jones, etc. Co-author of The Deadwood Bible with Matt Zoller Seitz.